Wrap Up | June/Emojiathon

Hey readers!

So this month I took part in a month long readathon called #EMOJIATHON

Here are the emoji prompts that I managed to check off this month:

                                   

Just a reminder before I go on to give a round up of the books I read, that I now run my ranking system by ‘hit’, ‘miss’ or ‘maybe’ – you can find more info about that in my original post here.

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware
MAYBE
This book wasn’t great, the plot was a bit predictable and some of the things that the characters thought and said were so cringey… but it kept me reading til the end because the atmosphere created was very good.

In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang
HIT
I loved this graphic novel, the art style was so captivating and the story was unique and really interesting. I loved the dual perspective points and the idea of not knowing the life behind the characters you play against on MMO games.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
HIT
I had read one Morgan Matson book previously and loved it and this one didn’t disappoint. It was the perfect cute summer read packed with an emotional storyline that got me hooked and kept me reading. A beautiful story.

A House at the Bottom of a Lake by Josh Malerman
HIT
This book guys! The suspense and creepy factor were at a high the whole time. The concept of this book was really fascinating and the execution was perfect. I’ve not real Malerman’s other work but will definitely be picking it up after loving this so much.

The Melody of You and Me and The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis
HIT
I’d had this first novella on my e-reader for quite some time, drawn to my attention thanks to the #DiversityBingo2017 due to its inclusion of a pansexual character. I have already written a mini review of both of these novellas and I loved them both so much. I hope there will be more in this beautiful series.

Locke and Key Vol 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill
HIT
This graphic novel was amazing, I’d heard wonderful things about it from booktube and am so very glad I picked it up for myself this month. Being the first installation of this series there is a lot of premise and world building but it’s done subtly and the action is still delivered from page one with a punch.

Treasure by Rebekah Wetherspoon
HIT
This novella was equal parts sexy and cute, fun and serious. There is far too much to say in a quick review but here’s what you need to know. It’s a sex-positive, diverse f/f read that tackles some pretty heavy topics all the while delivering you cute romance and sexy seduction. Please do yourself a favour and pick it up.

All the Words I Should have Said by Rania Naim
HIT
This book of poetry is downright emotionally charged. Guaranteed if you can relate to any of these themes you will be hit right in the heart with her beautiful words. Her work so honestly portrays love and lust in a modern culture and you can feel her intention behind every word.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
HIT
I know I’m well late to the party on this one but I’m going to gush anyway. This graphic novel was wonderful! Not just the fantasy/hero story that I thought it’d be its so emotional and relatable. I laughed out loud, cried a bit and gasped more than once while reading this book. If you haven’t yet, go buy it, it’s well worth the money!!! (Ballister and Goldenloin… so precious).

 

Leave a Reply

