DiversityBingo2017 update

As you may remember I am participating in a year-long reading challenge called #DiversityBingo2017 – the aim is to read at least one book that fulfils the prompts on all 36 spaces on the bingo card. I thought I would do a mid year update on how far I’ve got as well as what books I plan to read going forward.

Here are the prompts:

czmlbaeusaa6hub

So far I have completed 14 prompts.

Displaced MC:
Stormy Seas: Stories of Young Boat Refugees by Mary Beth Leatherdale

Retelling with MC belonging to LGBTQIA+:
As I Descended by Robin Talley

Bisexual MC (own voices):
Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

MC with an invisible disability:
Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley

Non-Western real world setting:
I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

Book by an author of colour:
Salt by Nayyirah Waheed

Pansexual MC (own voices):
The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis

Black MC (own voices):
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

MC on the ACE spectrum (own voices):
Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

LGBTQIA+ MC of colour:
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Contemporary world arranged marriage:
We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan

Indigenous MC (own voices):
The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina

Diverse non-fiction:
We Should All Be Feminists by Chimimanda Ngozie Adichie

POC on the cover:
Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

There are so many other books that I plan to read for DiversityBingo2017 and I really appreciate how this challenge is pushing me to seek out more books with such colourful, varied characters and themes.
Some of the other books diverse inclusive books I’m hoping to pick up soon and some recommendations if your stuck for some ideas are:

  • How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake
  • Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee
  • Queer, There and Everywhere by Sarah Prager
  • When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
  • Ash by Malinda Lo
  • Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
  • The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember
  • The Abyss Surrounds by Emily Skrutskie
  • Meg and Linus by Hanna Nowinski
  • Look Both Ways by Alison Cherry
  • The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi
  • Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra
  • The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertelli
  • Far From You by Tess Sharpe
  • Peter Darling by Austin Chant
  • Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera
    (having not yet fully researched all of these books I cannot 100% say if they are all ownvoices rep)

If  you have any suggestions for squares I have not yet completed or any thoughts on the books I’m planning on picking up please leave a comment and let me know!

2 thoughts on “DiversityBingo2017 update

Leave a Reply

