Wrap Up | DiverseAThon 2.0

This time round DiverseAThon ran from January 22 – 29 and just like last time it was a truly enriching experience.
I took 2 main things out of this year’s DiverseAThon experience:

1. Community – just like last time I have come away with an overwhelming sense of community from my fellow DiverseAThoners and from the diverse book community in general. I think this is something to value always but especially at this time of uncertainty in the future and unreliable country leaders. Not only does reading diversely together help everyone feel a sense of calm and reassurance but also we were able to talk together about how we can fight to change things and what we as a community can do to help those in fear right now.

2. Challenge – this year I read 6 different books during the week of DiverseAThon, and each of them challenged me to consider my world and my views in a new way. I was also really challenged during the amazing DiverseAThon chats on twitters. Our discussions there were fun and engaging but also really hard hitting and challenging, the hosts made extra effort this time round to focus the questions on our societies current issues and how we play a role in it. We were asked to call ourselves out on problematic behaviours, to really consider what we read and engage with and why, and to see beyond the surface of some texts and books to really value the voices of the minorities from which we read. I was blown away by the answers that were given to the discussion starters and by everyone’s enthusiasm.

I’m sad to say goodbye to DiverseAThon once again, but like last time, I pledge to make my DiverseAThon experience last all year round, continuing to read and promote #ownvoices and diversely inclusive books and to keep fighting for not only the minorities I am part of but for others too.

Here is a list of what I read during DiverseAThon 2.0:

(I’m trying out my new book rating system of ‘hit’, ‘miss’ or ‘maybe’ hit=loved it would recommend miss=didn’t like it wouldn’t recommend and maybe=I’m on the fence about this one… Full explanation post to come.)

As I Descended by Robin Talley – hit!

Salt by Nayyirah Waheed – hit!

The Backstagers issue 1 by James Tynion IV – hit!

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur – maybe!

Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire – hit!

Stormy Seas: Stories of Young Boat Refugees by Mary Beth Leatherdale – hit!

Leave a Reply

