NaNoWriMo week 1 wrap up

crest-05e1a637392425b4d5225780797e5a76

 

WEEK 1 STATUS UPDATE:

DAY 7 target: 11,669
DAY 7 actual: 8,205
TARGET WORDS PER DAY: 1667
AVERAGE WORDS PER DAY: 1,172

WEEK 1 HOW I’M DOING:

So, NaNoWriMo has been a roller-coaster so far – I definitely underestimated how hard it would be for me. Being that I can’t easily stay awake past around 10pm due to my fibro, have very limited concentration span due to my psych meds and am intolerant to caffeine due to a poorly heart… IT IS PROVING DIFFICULT!!
I am really enjoying it though, pushing myself to be more creative everyday is really helping me see my potential and giving me a lot of confidence in my story building and creative writing.

WEEK 1 WHAT I’VE LEARNED:

Like I said I have been struggling a little with NaNoWriMo, the main thing that I have noticed I struggle with is definitely the short attention span. It’s inhibiting my work in two main ways… first is that I find I cannot write for long periods of time even with taking breaks. I know this will be something that will get easier with time and practice so I’m pressing on. The other way that it is slowing me down is that I’m finding it hard to keep myself excited about and focused on one project at a time, at first I really felt like a bit of a failure but to be honest I realised that IT’S TOTALLY NOT THE END OF THE WORLD. Instead of worrying every time I jump ship with a new idea or a new plot thread or scene for a different project I just roll with it. I’ve got 2-3 projects that I’m working on right now and although it’s not technically the NaNo rules i’m just counting what I am writing toward all of them. As well as that I keep a ideas journal that I write any new ideas down in.

Leave a Reply

