October Wrap Up

Hey readers!
Seeing as it’s almost into November and I’m unlikey to get another book read before Tuesday, I decided to get ahead of myself and post my wrap up!

It was a good reading month for me but nothing in comparison to my last month’s 14 books!!

In October I have read 7 books in total:

  • 3 YA paranormal novels
  • 2 graphic novels
  • 1 YA contemporary novel
  • 1 ARC (historical fantasy)

    Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Graphic Novel ***

    This was a great graphic novel to start my October reading. I really loved the art style that the story took, it particularly added to the ‘spooky’ vibe of the story. I was compelled to keep reading to find out more about the odd children of the story. The plot had the exciting vibe reminiscent of reading ‘goosebumps’ or ‘point horror’ as a kid, where you know nothing bad is really going to happen but you have chills from what your imagination conjures up! I couldn’t really connect with the protagonist however and it didn’t make me excited enough to want to pick up a further installment, but did make me more eager to read the full novel hoping for a deeper connection there.

    Goodreads

    Timekeeper by Tara Sim (ARC) *****

    As I have already posted a full review of this marvellous book I will not go in depth here… but just trust me that you need to read it, because it’s a beautiful and magical story that will leave you wanting more of the world and the characters.

    Goodreads

    Witchblade Vol1 by Ron Marz ***

    This graphic novel was the kind of story style that you could pick up one issue, read it as a single and not be confused if you haven’t read others. The story is about our MC Sarah Pezzini who is a police officer by day and wearer of the witchblade relic by night to fight off whatever demons are haunting her city that day. It reminded me of a late 90s Saturday morning cartoon, I loved the art and the although at times the dialogue was cheesy, it added to the whole package well.

    Goodreads

    The Call by Peadar O’Guilin ****

    This book was so good! It was so exciting and a constant page turner with unbridled gore which was actually very refreshing. The story follows Nessa, a young Irish girl who lives in a alt future society where teenagers are “called” at any unexpected point to survive for 24hrs (3mins real time) in the land of the Sidhe, awful sadistic fairies hellbent on revenge towards humans. I loved the characters in this, especially Megan, Nessa’s sarcastic and hilarious best friend. This book is being likened to the Hunger Games and in story there is an obvious survivalist resemblance… But this book is something much more. O’Guilin writes with an urgency, an understanding of the teenage mind and a fantastic voice that keeps you tense on every word. Prepare to change your mind about how cute and sparkly fairies are…

     Goodreads

    Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake ***

    I still haven’t really decided how I feel about this book. Our MC Cas Lowood is a ghost hunter/killer who moves around town to town with his witch mother ridding various haunted spots of the dead.Hebis ultimately working toward avenging his father’s death when one call brings him to a new town to kill the infamous ghost the locals call Anna Dressed In Blood. I enjoyed the story and was intrigued to a certain extent but I think outside if #Spookathon, which I picked it for, I probably wouldn’t have given it much thought. I appreciated how smoothly Kendra Blake could blend very poignant chilling scenes with very witty off-beat humour and especially liked how openly and blatantly the topics of murder, sex, the occult etc are brought up. I think if I had of read this aged around 15 I would’ve thought it was the coolest thing ever!

    Goodreads
    Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall *****

    I’m not going to write a lot about this book as I have a dedicated review of it coming out in the next couple of days. This book was wonderful. It was an entirely unique story which shed such honest and often stark light on what living with a severe anxiety disorder is like. North the main character is so relatable, even if you don’t understand the first thing about her disorder, because she worries about the same things as any other high school girl does – just to a much greater extent. This book really spoke to me and I can’t wait to share my full thoughts with you soon! 

    Goodreads
    The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater ****

    This was a re-read as I picked this book up earlier in the year but didn’t continue immediately with the rest of the series. Now I own #2 I just needed a quick refresher read to catch myself back up. I loved it as much this time as before. This story has such a slow-burning energy that you don’t realise how much you’re getting sucked in until you feel as if you’re standing with Blue and the Raven Boys yourself. I loved it.

    Goodreads

    3 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

    Leave a Reply

    