Dewey’s 24hr readathon update post.

I’m just going to keep updating this post as the day goes on.

Hrs 22_24:

These last few hrs since I’ve woken up I’ve been busy with my little one but managed to sneak a few more chapters of Anna in.

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Right before I went to sleep last night because my brain was saying Keep Reading! But my body was like hell no!
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The action and suspense of Anna Dressed in Blood kept me engaged and short stories worked well.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? More varied mini challenges?
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The mini challenges and prompts that made us book down the book and move about for 2mins.
  5. How many books did you read? Bits of 7 books
  6. What were the names of the books you read?Dan Rhodes Anthropology, Kendare Blake Anna Dressed in Blood, The Yellow Wallpaper and other stories by Charlotte Perkins Holman, Jonny Panic and the Bible of Dream’s by sylvia Plath and The Best American Short stories of 2016, jk rowling pottermore presents and under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? The Best American Short stories of 2016.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? The Yellow Wallpaper
  9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Yes! Maybe mini challenge host!

      Hrs 15-21:

      I slept! Longer than expected but I obviously needed it!!

      Hr 13-14:

      My reading has slowed right down, I think my brain is a little fuzzy right now so I’m taking a break to watch some book tube videos and recharge.

      I ABSOLUTELY love the hr 14 mini challenge of what book would you turn into a video game. I’m a pretty big video game nerd, and while I’ll give most things a go from big name shooters to indie strategies, my favourite VG genre is a good old fashioned platformer! 8bit, side scrolling, 3d, RPG elements… If there is the standard platforming base to it I’m happy. 

      I would design a colourful, fun platformer based on the Lumberjanes graphic novel… right? Are you with me?

      You have the whole gang but each girl has different special abilities you can level up and use strategically at various boss battles. You have to save the campers in every level and collect smores to keep your energy up to fight the boss creature/bad guy. (Side missions include saving your cute gf, ass-kicking all misogyny and surviving arts and crafts hr!)

      With the amazing art from Noelle Stevenson you can really imagine the game coming to life.

      Ah… We nerd-girls can dream right?

      Hr 12:

      Mid-Event Survey

      1. What are you reading right now? Potteries presents Heroism, Hardship and dangerous hobbies.
      2. How many books have you read so far? I’ve mainly been dipping in and out of short stories… 5 short stories, 2 poems, 1 short collection and about half a novel.
      3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Hopefully finishing my recent contemporary read Under Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall.
      4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I have a young kid and a hyper dog so yes! I think the key is allowing yourself distraction here and there, otherwise it all becomes a lot of hard work and not enough fun.
      5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? That I’ve not fallen asleep yet seeing as  only slept 3 hrs last night!

      Hrs 8-11: 

      Well guys we’re almost half way through and I’m totally pumped! As well as continuing to read Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake I’ve also read so far…

      • 5 poems and two short stories by Sylvia Plath
      • Anthropology by Dan Rhodes
      • The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Graham

      I’m about to choose a short story from The Best American Short Stories 2016 to read, I’ve only heard one one Author (Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie) but I’m purposefully going to choose one of the other stories to broaden my reading a bit.

      Hr 6-7:

      So hour 6 was all about reading a poem from a poet who’s birthday is in October and included in the example list was Sylvia Plath. I’d already been reading her poetry earlier in the read-a-thon and actually plan on reading a few of her short stories later in my evening 🙂 

      Hour 7 Mini challenge

      Q. Share a reading memory tied to a specific book.

      A. A lot of my very vivid reading memories are from childhood. I was such an enthusiastic reader then just as I am now. My local library was my safe space when I was having trouble in school or at home and the characters from the pages of my books were my very best friends. Some of my greatest childhood reading memories:

      • Pretending to be sick to stay off school and finish the Jacqueline Wilson double book of Bad Girls and Double Act.
      • Staying up late to finish Superfudge by Judy Blume then flipping to the front and immediately starting again.
      • Me and my friends formed our own ‘Sleepover Club’
      • Reading books like The Divorce Express by Paula Danziger and It’s Not The End of the World by Judy Blume and really beginning to understand and cope with my own family stuff.

      Hr 4:

      Still reading Anna and having a blueberry snack. Will be missing out hour 5 as I’ll be driving back from my mums house to mine!!

      Hr 3:

      I took a break from Anna Dressed in Blood to read some Sylvia Plath poetry I found while raiding my mums bookshelf. 

      Mini challenge:

      Q. Who is your bookish other half?

      A. If we’re talking like bookish best friend/most like me I’d go for Norah from Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. We’re both anxiety and depression sufferers. Both obsessive and awkward. Both have a dry sarcastic sense of humour. We’d never meet because social anxiety but we’d talk 24/7 thanks to modern technology.

      Hr 1-2:

      My first book is Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake.

      1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Belfast, Northern Ireland

      2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? I’m kind of flying by the seat of my pants today, deciding as I go… But I’m looking forward to reading some short stories.

      3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Popcorn!

      4) Tell us a little something about yourself! Mummy of one 3yo, one kitty and one pup!

      5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? First time, excited about finding new reading buddies and just getting some good old reading done.

      Mini challenge:

      6 word story – 

      Leave a Reply

      