Wrap Up #1 – JUNE

Books

So I know we are almost half way through July, but, better late than never eh?
This is just my brief thoughts on my June reads, I’ll link the goodreads page for each book and if anyone wants to hear more in depth thoughts on any of these books please leave a comment and I’ll get to it ASAP!

In June I read 7 books in total:

  • 1 illustrated short story
  • 1 short story collection
  • 1 fantasy novel
  • 4 YA contemporary novels

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
***
I was a bit disappointed in this read, I think it was a combo of hearing too much hype and trying to read it when I wasn’t in the mood for this kind of story. I did enjoy the characters and thought that Schwab’s writing style was beautifully done. I do intend on reading the sequel and will probably reread this one before doing so.

goodreads page

The Sleeper and The Spindle by Neil Gaiman
****
I’m really starting to get into Gaiman’s work. The way he twists the expected into something totally surprising is a key part of this quick read. It was a perfect in between read and the illustrations by Chris Riddell were wonderfully enchanting.

goodreads page

More Happy than Not by Adam Silvera
*****
I was blown away by this debut novel. I truly believe it should be required reading in schools for young teenagers. The way Silvera creates discussion around identity and self acceptance is truly moving and even at 28 years old I learned a lot from this beautiful story.

goodreads page

Gena/Finn by Hannah Moskowitz and Kat Helgeson
***
This book had such promise!! The first half was perfect, it described how it feels to meet someone online and how that someone can quickly become a fast and true friend. The two girls in this book were believable and lovably flawed but then the second half I felt turned everything on its head. Not only with plot changing and taking a big turn but also a more forced and unrealistic view on the pairs relationships both with each other and their other friends and family. I would definitely still pick up other works by both of these authors but just wish that the story here had of been a little more consistent.

goodreads page

Dark Lies The Island by Kevin Barry
***
I picked this book up from my library on a whim from a new ‘local authors’ display my library had arranged. I enjoyed reading stories from a local perspective and for the most part enjoyed the quick reads but as can be expected with short story compilations not all the stories were for me.

goodreads page

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
****
This was a fun summer contemporary read. The romance in it was predictable but thankfully well thought and fleshed out (not insta-love). I enjoyed the slight ‘mystery’ of where Sloane had gone and what the list was all about and really loved the character development of Frank and Emily. Overall enjoyable but not life-changing.

goodreads page

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
****
Something about this book just didn’t sit 100% right with me. I loved the family dynamics, the references to gaming and the insight into first love as a young person but the actual mental health part just read like it was coming from someone who had done a lot of research but had no real world experience. I do hope Kinsella keeps writing for YA.

goodreads page

Leave a Reply

