T5W #3

top5wed

As I mentioned before I have joined the wonderful Goodreads Group started by GingerReadsLainey – “Top 5 Wednesday”.

Today is “Settings you want to see more of” – Time periods, places or other settings we want more of in our literature… so here we go!

University
Like a lot of book community folks, I love a good school-based story. But more than that I really enjoy reading stories set in University. Books that give you the same community and comradery feel that you get in the classic boarding school books but with the maturity that comes with the big step of moving to college/university.

Fangirl and The Bell Jar

Seasons
I absolutely love books set within specific seasons… especially summer and autumn books. A book really grabs me when the author can describe the specific feelings of the seasons… the warm close humidity of summer or the crisp and icy air of winter.

Since You’ve Been Gone and Dash and Lilly’s book of Dares.

Changing Times
Time travel!!!! I love time travel, it fascinates me and I love watching documentaries about it or reading articles about time travel  conspiracies. So when books have an element of time travel, whether fantastical or within a normal reality setting I just soak them up.

The Time Travelers Wife and 11.22.63

The Eighties and Nineties
The late 80s – 90s was my era, I was born in 1987 and grew up a 90s child with older siblings – so when I read a book about growing up in the 80s or 90s, especially when they catch the small details of the fads and pop culture its just one big throwback party 🙂

The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Eleanor and Park

#UKYA
As much as I cannot fault the majority of the YA literature set in the USA, I love books with a bit more relatable depth when it comes to the setting. Reading about the characters walking the streets of cities I know, or mentioning the UK culture that I live in adds some extra magic to the reading experience for me.

Finding Audrey and Sugar Rush

 

 

Leave a Reply

