T5W #1 – Buzz Words

top5wed

So I have decided to join the wonderful Goodreads Group started by GingerReadsLainey – “Top 5 Wednesday”. Coming in late to the game gives me advantage of having alternates for weeks that either aren’t applicable to me or that I just cant think of examples for!

So this week instead of “Books you were spoiled for” I am revisiting this January and “Buzzwords that make you buy”:

Emotional/Mental Illness
I love to read stories when I can connect to strong emotions in the plot and character development. Stories about mental illness, either in real life or the lives of fictional people are ones I can especially empathize with and this emotional connection makes me treasure a novel when written well.

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia and All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Coming-Of-Age
Who doesn’t love a good contemporary coming of age? There is something about walking that life journey with a character, seeing their transformation either physically or emotionally, and (usually) rooting for the underdog and seeing him come out on top. It warms my still teenage heart!

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky and Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Adventure
The page turners! The plot twisters! The cliff hangers! I love the thrill and excitement of a good adventure story.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater and The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.

Memoir/True Story
I love anything rooted in real life. I find it FASCINATING to follow true stories and lives be it in TV, film or literature. It’s about soaking in other cultures, societies and human experience to grow and learn by walking in other people’s shoes not just your own.

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer and Unbearable Lightness by Portia De Rossi

LGBTQ
Again, it’s about what I can relate to, but more so this time its about visibility and equality. What do we want? Queer characters! Where do we want them? Just chilling out in our popular literature!

Pages for You by Sylvia Brownrigg and Simon vs the Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

